Richard Madden

Released 28th October 2022

Further cementing his place as one of Australia’s premier guitarist, Richard Madden releases ‘GET A LOAD OF THIS!’ Friday 28 October 2022 a new live album containing 14 tracks which features an all-star 10-piece band!

The show was recorded at the Vanguard, Sydney for the launch of Richard’s debut album, ‘Force of Nature’ and features a few firsts. First time played live versions of Messin’ with the Kid, Reefer Headed Woman, Habits of a Lifetime and Going Down. This also marks the first time performing with horns of stage. As Richard recalls, the preparation for the show was not exactly ideal.

I have always loved soul music so to play with a 10 piece ensemble was a dream and exciting, however due to scheduling conflicts, only half the band could rehearse on the Saturday and the other half on the Sunday before Tuesday’s show, so the whole band met for the first time on the night and this new live record is the result, it’s the sound from the driver’s seat, one chance, one shot, what a trip!’

Overall the energy instilled in this performance is palpable and is a testament to the songs and musicianship on display. Credit must also be given to the production crew and to the audience for being so loud and supportive!

In conjunction with the CD/digital release of the album, there will also be available a limited edition 34-page photo album featuring a foreword by John Hardaker, photos and memorabilia from the night making it the perfect companion for the 14 track album!

Pre-orders of the ‘GET A LOAD OF THIS!’ CD and photo album will be shipped Monday 24th October 2022, a few days before the release date and are now available to order below.

Digital pre-orders of ‘GET A LOAD OF THIS!’ are exclusively available from

‘Cannonball’ single available from Friday October 7 2022.

Richard Madden – Get a Load of This! CD $24.95 + shipping

Richard Madden – Get a Load of This! photo album $29.95 + shipping

Richard Madden – Get a Load of This! bundle (photo album + CD) $39.95 + shipping

Second Nature released 10 December 2021

In late August 2010, Richard and band (Curtis DeVille on drums and Mark Deayton on bass), headed up to Fletchers Farmhouse in the Southern Highlands to record what would become the album, ‘Second Nature’. Recorded in three days with Syd Green engineering, the band made the most of their short time together. Additional overdubs including harmonica from David Blight and a horn section were laid down in the following months shortly thereafter. Consisting of mainly of Richard’s guitar driven original songs, the album is peppered with some fantastic cover versions. It wasn’t until early 2020, some 10 years later, that the unmixed tracks were reassembled and mixed with the assistance of Ben Worsey. Additional piano parts were recorded by Lachy Doley in June 2020, and the album was mastered by Cefe Flynn 2021.

Track listing: 1. Heavy Load 2. Sweet Envy 3. Messin’ with the Kid 4. Reefer Headed Woman 5. Keeper of the Night 6. Factory Air Conditioned 7. Rattlesnakin’ Daddy 8. Tale of Lee Malone 9. Oh Oh 10. Autumn Sun

‘Richard is the real deal!’ – Stuart Coupe

‘This album is sure to please fans of hard, guitar-oriented, blues rock!’ – Bluestown Music

‘4 out of 5 stars’ – Rhythms Magazine

Richard Madden – Second Nature limited edition white vinyl only 100 copies available. Also includes digital download. 

$49.95 (AUD) plus shipping

Richard Madden – Second Nature CD. 

$19.95 (AUD) plus shipping

Richard Madden – Second Nature limited edition T-shirt. Available in L and XL.

$39.95 (AUD) plus shipping

T-shirt sizes

Richard Madden – Second Nature limited edition white vinyl & T-shirt bundle. Available in L and XL. Includes digital download. 

$79.95 (AUD) plus shipping

T-shirt sizes

Richard Madden – Second Nature limited edition CD & T-shirt bundle. Available in L and XL.

 $49.95 (AUD) plus shipping

T-shirt sizes
Recorded July/August 2007 at The Sound Basement. Richard Madden (guitar & vocals), Curtis Martin (drums & percussion), Cameron Potts (bass). Clayton Doley (keys), Max Smidt (harmonica), Gaby Huber & Vicky B (backing vocals), Virgil Reality (trumpet), Justin Buckingham (alto saxophone). Produced by Richard Madden. Engineered by Val Calocerinos. Mixed by Val Calocerinos & Richard Madden. Mastering by Tony ‘Jack the Bear’ Mantz.
Released May 6, 2008

Richard Madden – Force of Nature CD $19.95 (AUD) plus shipping


Recorded live at The Vanguard 2 August, 2006. Richard Madden (guitar & vocals), Curtis Martin (drums), Andrew Challoner (bass) and special guest vocals Johnny Cass on Bron-Yr-Aur Stomp. Live sound recording – Felix Kulakowski. Mastering – Brian Cachia.
Released August 2, 2006

Richard Madden – Rockin’ the Vanguard CD $9.95 (AUD) plus shipping